Anime I am Glad I Watched In 2016

Well, congrats to all of you reading this, we have made it through 2016 and have now landed in 2017. While 2016 was definitely a terrible year, in most aspects, we at least got  some good anime out of the deal. Now this is going to be anime that I watched in 2016, whether or not it had premiered in 2016 or not. It will also include anime-related movies, and OVAs, not just anime series. This is also not a complete list of what I watched throughout the year, but has the shows that either touched my heart or are really memorable to me. As such, this will also only include series that I have watched completely, or at least one season of. As well, I am going to make this as spoiler-free as possible. With that said, lets get started.

**Any shows that I link to YouTube are because there are no other sites that have it available. All rights to all anime and anime-related projects below belong to their respected owners.**

1) Black Butler Live Action Movie

bblive

Well, let’s start off with this live action. Now I know what most would probably say about this: “This live action was horrible, why did you like it?”. And you know what, I was one of those people before I decided to watch this again. And you know what? This might not be a good live action, or even an accurate representation of Black Butler, but it was fun and funny to watch. I do actually want to do a review of this later, but I do want to say that I thought the action scenes were pretty good, and the acting was also good. I know this isn’t the Black Butler live action we were all hoping for, but it’s not terrible either. Besides, that what we have the musicals for.

As of right now, Funimation is releasing the live action to dvd and is dubbing it as well. They even have a trailer for it on their Youtube account.

2) Assassination Classroom Season 2

assclass

Oh, Assassination Classroom. What looked like it was going to be just a silly comedy, turned out to be so deep and emotional, it had most, if not all, of its audience crying by the end. It also has the distinct honor of making each of its characters unique and memorable, even when there are over 20 characters we have to keep track of. To be specific, the 2nd season, in my opinion, was so good, I ended up binge watching episodes 1-24 in just one day, and was so excited, and sad, to watch the last episode as it came out. Honestly, I feel that people may have forgotten about this show as many other anime were premiering then as well, but no one should miss out on watching this show.

Assassination Classroom is available on Funimation.

3) Noblesse: Awakening

noblesse-4

Now, what many of you might not know about me, is that I love reading manwhas. Well, I say that, but I do only have a few manwhas that I keep up with religiously. And the one that tops them all is Noblesse. So when I heard that an OVA was being made on it, I was super excited. Again, this is something I will review(along with the next OVA) later, but I do think that it was animated good. I did think it was a bit rushed, but they only had 30 minutes so I can understand. I just wish this would convince anime companies to start investing some money into making anime series from manwhas.

Noblesse: Awakening is available on Youtube on LINE WEBTOON’s official channel and on Crunchyroll.

4) Noblesse: The Beginning of Destruction

noblessebegin

And here we are again with Noblesse, except this one is a prequel. Yes this is the prequel to basically everything that leads up to where we start off from in the manwha, as well as the previous OVA. What’s noteworthy about this is that it was produced in Korea unlike the other OVA, which was made in Japan, so the animation is surprisingly pretty good. And while the voice acting can be questionable at times, just because of the Korean accents, its not too bad. I’ll go over this more in detail in a different review, but I’m so happy I got to see this.

Noblesse is available, in 2 parts, on Youtube.

5) Dance with Devils

dancingdevils

For those of who don’t know, this anime was made by the same people who brought us Diabolik Lovers. As such, I was kind of unsure if I wanted to watch it. However, my friend convinced me to watch, so I gave it a chance and I loved it! The female protagonist is competent, the boys, while still being stereotypes, are still memorable and have their own quirks. This is also UtaPri like, as there is a song in every episode. While I won’t say they are amazing songs, they are fun to listen to, and, depending on which character you like, you’ll probably like their character songs. This anime also treats itself like a play, which does change the overall feel, and its a nice change. Highly recommend this to reverse harem lovers, UtaPri fans, and anyone who is disappointed by either Vampire Knight or Diabolik Lovers.

Dance with Devils is available on Funimation

6) Boku no Hero Academia Season 1

bokuhero

And here we are with the Detriot Smash hit of the spring season, My Hero Academia, or Boku no Hero Academia. I honestly was not going to watch this, not because I thought it was going to be bad, but I wasn’t sure if it would really be my kind of show, since I go for more romance stories than anything. Well, my anime club didn’t give me a choice as this was selected to be played in club, and we watched every single episode. This show was funny, action-packed, and filled with zany fun. The characters are really enjoyable and relatable. As well, the powers that are displayed are either unique, or used in a way that is different from what I have seen in older series. The animation also fit very well, as the characters looked and moved really nice, which made for amazing fight scenes, when their different powers would collide.

My Hero Academia is available on Funimation.

7) Bungo  Stray Dogs Season 1

bungo

Again, another series I might not have watched if not for my anime club. I had been planning to watch this, but I just got so busy that it was always left on the side. However, this show has stayed in and we were able to finish the first season, and are currently watching the second season. This show has a surprisingly good story and the mystery of it is also very intriguing. So far, the characters have developed very well, and have become an important part of the series, which is always a plus for any show. As well, the designs and overall animation of the show is unique, and helps it stand out against the other series its competing with. As well, you know a show is good, when I have a best boy AND best girl! Usually its just the guys, but this show does a really good job at making you feel connected to the other characters as well, especially when it comes to their unique powers and abilities.

Bungo Stray Dogs is available on Crunchyroll.

8) Haven’t You Heard? I’m Sakamoto.

sakamoto

And here we are with another comedy. Now, normally a main character who is literally too perfect is boring to watch and would make any series dull. However, it is because of how perfect Sakamoto is, that the show works so well, and makes for some hilarious moments. This probably will be one of the few shows where you will see an amazing fight between Sakamoto and a bee. As well, he is also extremely likeable, as he doesn’t flaunt his perfection in people’s faces, it’s just him being himself. In my opinion, this show is the best comedy of the year. Definitely a must see for anyone who likes comedies and wants to have some fun.

Haven’t You Heard? I’m Sakamoto. is available on Crunchyroll.

9) Nanbaka Season 1

nanbaka5

Whether this show is trying to be a silly comedy, or an action-packed thriller, is not quite clear yet, but this show has just been so much fun to watch. While it has its ups and downs, I can’t say that this wasn’t an enjoyable show. Between the world and character design, and loyalty that the characters have with each other, it was nice to see compared to some of the other comedies and prison anime I have already seen. Is it something I would recommend to anyone? Probably not. But if you love likable characters, an intriguing mystery, and action, this is definitely a show you will want to check out. It also has a dub that, in my opinion, is funnier than the original.

Nanbaka can be found on Crunchyroll, for the sub, or Funimation, for the dub.

10) Uta No Prince Sama : Maji Love Legend Star

legendstar

And now the anime that I had been waiting all year for. And it was totally worth the wait! This season makes up for the previous, lackluster season of UtaPri. We get to meet and learn about new characters, as well as remember why it is we love the original STARISH boys: because they are just so lovable and charming. The songs were really well done this season as well, and each episode was so much fun to watch. While I was looking forward to a final conclusion to the show, I’m still happy that we will be seeing more from UtaPri, as long as it is just as good as this season.

Uta No Prince Sama is available on Crunchyroll.

11) Yuri on Ice!! Season 1

yurionice

And last, but certainly not least, is  the oh-so-wonderful, gay ice skating show known as Yuri on Ice!! This show was just a treat to watch, as well as an unexpected, but very welcomed addition to the anime community. As well, this anime just made me feel happy. Something that the other anime and projects I listed above also did, but Yuri on Ice just made me feel so much more happiness than any other show. This anime deserves all the praise that it has got, since it was able to attract not just many people from the anime community, but brought in professional ice skaters, pole dancers, and just about anyone else who wasn’t in the anime community. This show has left an impact that I don’t think will be forgotten anytime soon. Some people will question this, but I honestly think Yuri on Ice was not a one-hit wonder. In fact, you could say it was “born to make history”, and it is only getting started.

Yuri on Ice is available on Crunchyroll, for the sub, and Funimation, for the dub.

Please comment below on the shows you enjoyed throughout the year. Did you not see any of the shows that I listed above? What 2017 anime are you excited for? Let’s go with the flow of the new year, and I hope to see you guys next time!

One thought on “Anime I am Glad I Watched In 2016

Leave a Reply

