Kiss Him, Not Me Episode 1-3 Review

Hi, everybody!! I’m here to review the first 3 episodes of Kiss Him, Not Me. After this review, Kiss Him, Not Me will become a regular episodic review, so episode 4 will have its own review. As well, I will more than likely be spoiling a few things from these episodes, so if you haven’t seen them already, please go ahead and watch them before reading on. With that said, let’s get started.

screenshot-309

We begin the series with the introduction of our main character, Kae, as she is a fujoshi that just enjoys pairing up the various hot guys that she knows. We then get to meet each of our boys, for this series, which includes, Nana, a boy who likes Kae favorite anime character, Shinomiya, an aloof freshman, Igarashi, the athletic, boy-next-door classmate, and Mutsumi, who can be best described as best boy. After her favorite anime character, Shion, dies, Kae hides in her room for a week and does not eat. When she is finally forced out of her room, it shows that she has lost a considerable amount of weight, and quickly gains attention from her family and classmates, including most of the previously mentioned boys. They then go on a date, and discover that Kae is a anime fan, or otaku. This does not deter them, and then continue to try and win favor with Kae through different means, while also learning more about her, such as that she is a fujoshi and that she is quite athletic. The 2nd episode deals with Nana and Kae learning more about each other, through Kae wanting to join the soccer club, and Nana having to teach her how to play. The 3rd episode deals with Igarashi being fed up with “sharing” Kae with the other boys, and wanting her to decide who she wants. During a school festival, where most of them are dressed up in cosplays, from a princess to a maid to Shion, and even an Attack On Titan cosplay, they set times for them to hang out with Kae. After Kae expresses her distress at having to choose, since she does not realize they all “like” her like that, Igarashi apologizes and they all go back to how they were before.

screenshot-306

Ok, so far, this series is just kind of ‘meh’ for me. I am a fan of the manga, but for some reason I do feel like I had more fun reading the manga then watching the series. Also, let’s go ahead and address two of the biggest problems I have for this series.

One, the idea that a girl begins to get all the guys, and gets much more popular, all because she stopped eating for a week, which caused her to lose a ton of weight. While I was slightly upset about this topic when I read it in the manga, I feel the anime only made this topic worse than it already was.  I won’t lie and say that I’m okay with this, because I do think this makes a lot of girls feel insecure, but I will give the anime credit only because they have Mutsumi. Because he is able to recognize her, even after she has changed, and still treats her the same as before, as he was actually nice to her back when she was fatter, Mutsumi does make this topic a little better. But the downside to this is it makes Mutsumi look like the only likeable character. He was my favorite character in the manga as well, for this same reason, so I think you guys can see what I’m talking about.

Two, the fact that these boys treat Kae like she is an object. I mean, they make an entire schedule about what times each boy would have to spend time with her, without her consent. I just don’t like this specific thing, since it makes this show more cliche and, sometimes, predictable than other reverse harem series.

Sound is also average, as the opening and closing are alright, but not really something I would put in my playlist. And, while this does get fixed after episode 2, sometimes the sound would be so loud, you could not hear what the characters were saying. I mean, come on anime studio, you at least got to know how to fix sound quality.

As for the good things, I do like the animation style, especially with how they choose to design Kae. As well, some of the faces they make in this show help it to stand out from other shows. The only downside I have to this is that the boys of this show, unlike Kae, aren’t very unique in their appearance, and they are actually kind of easy to forget. They already kind of feel like one-dimensional characters, and their designs don’t help. I almost feel like this show could have just been about Kae’s high school, fujoshi life and it would have been better than what we have right now.

The comedy of this show is, currently, what sets it apart from other reverse harems. Most of the jokes made in this show are actually really funny, whether they be references to other shows or even Kae’s strange soccer abilities. The only problem with comedy is that it is subjective, so what I might find funny, may not exactly be your cup of tea. I do, however, believe that the one of the strongest points of this show is its comedy, which can be seen as both a good thing and bad thing.

screenshot-304

So overall, my opinion of this show is not really good, but I wouldn’t say this show is bad, either. As of the time I put this blog up, I have yet to watch episode 4. I will continue to watch this anime, as I am a fan of the manga, and I’m still waiting for our next love rival to come in. As well, I know this anime has potential for so much more than it has shown, but whether the anime decides to actually do something good with that potential will be unknown until the later future. Well, with that said, please comment below on what you guys think of Kiss Him, Not Me so far? Do you have a favorite boy? What do you guys hope for out of this series? Be yourselves, and I hope to see you guys next time!

 

2 thoughts on “Kiss Him, Not Me Episode 1-3 Review

  1. I have a real issue with the premise of the show and to be honest the comedy of this is hit and miss for me, but… I haven’t been offended enough to stop watching it yet and clearly there is something I’m enjoying about it given I keep going back for more.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and I look forward to your episodic thoughts from here on.

    Like

    1. Thanks!! I know what you mean by the premise. I don’t remember it being this bad in the manga, but that might have just me. I do hope that it does get better as time progresses, but I am iffy with this series so far.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

