Nanbaka Episode 1 Review

Hello everyone! I’m back, and with another episodic review of a series from the Fall 2016 season. Today, we will be talking about the new comedy, prison anime, called Nanbaka. After a brief summary of the episode, I will talk about my opinions of the show thus far. Because of this, there will be spoilers, so if you have not watched the 1st episode of this series, please do that first. With that out of the way, lets get started.

nanbaka

The episode begins with our 4 main characters, Uno, Nico, Rock, and Jungo, trying to escape Nanba prison, while hacking and avoiding the various silly, and deadly, traps located throughout the prison. Just when it looks like they will escape, the head prison guard, Hajime, beats them up, before throwing them back in their cell, telling them to stop with all the escape attempts. Then the plot really begins, as it shows the daily lives of our main characters, from begging the prison guard to not let a murderer be roomed with them to Jungo asking Uno if he could get a girlfriend, which Uno quickly rejects. Even Hajime gets in on the action, as the group gets to meet his “sister”.  However, outside of these gags, the episode ends with Jungo showing to have a hidden agenda for being in Nanba prison.

nanbaka

Well, I’m not going to lie, I feel that my summary does not do this show justice. I found this show to not only be hilarious, but extremely interesting. Now, because this is a comedy, it is also very subjective. It just so happened to be funny to me, but it may or may not be funny to you, as, I do admit, some of the jokes are not as funny as others. As well, do not judge this show based off the first 10 minutes, as the actual episode doesn’t really start until afterwards. I feel like they put that beginning part in, because, from what I’ve seen in the manga, the series does not show many escape attempts, or it they do, they are off screen.

The animation is also really impressive, as it is very unique, and pleasing to look at. If anything, the one part of the animation I might get annoyed with is the constant sparkle effect that is present throughout the entire episode. This effect was also used in the manga, which explains why it is here, but I do not know if I really like it. The music itself is also really fun to listen to, as it really helps to energize the audience for the fun awaiting them. I especially love the opening song, “Rin! Rin! Hi! Hi!” by Hashiguchikanaderiya, as I feel like this is a perfect opening for this show, with the high amounts of energy, and music matching very well with the animation.

nanbaka3

Overall, I do enjoy Nanbaka, although I do hope the comedy becomes even better as the series progresses. I recommend this show to those who enjoys a good comedy, but not for just anybody, as there are some jokes that are made that, I feel, only anime fans will truly get, and understand. I will continue to watch Nanbaka, and, if you are interested in watching this series too, please go check it out on Crunchyroll. Please leave a comment below about what you think of this show, and what your favorite joke was. Thank you, everyone, and I hope to see you guys soon.

Leave a Reply

